01 Jul

Introduction to ASEAN :

ASEAN stands for the Association of Southeast Asian Nations. It is a regional intergovernmental organization that promotes economic, political, and socio-cultural cooperation among its member states in Southeast Asia. ASEAN was founded on August 8, 1967, with the signing of the ASEAN Declaration (also known as the Bangkok Declaration) by its original five member countries: Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand.Since its establishment, ASEAN has grown to include ten member states. The current member countries are:

  1. Brunei: Officially known as Brunei Darussalam, it joined ASEAN in 1984.
  2. Cambodia: Joined ASEAN in 1999.
  3. Indonesia: A founding member of ASEAN.
  4. Laos: Joined ASEAN in 1997.
  5. Malaysia: A founding member of ASEAN.
  6. Myanmar: Joined ASEAN in 1997.
  7. Philippines: A founding member of ASEAN.
  8. Singapore: A founding member of ASEAN.
  9. Thailand: A founding member of ASEAN.
  10. Vietnam: Joined ASEAN in 1995.

The main objectives of ASEAN include promoting regional peace and stability, fostering economic growth and development, enhancing regional cooperation, and strengthening regional integration. The organization operates on the principles of consensus-building, non-interference in internal affairs, and respect for the sovereignty and territorial integrity of member states.ASEAN conducts regular meetings and summits to discuss and coordinate policies on various issues, including trade, economy, security, environment, culture, and social development. One of the notable achievements of ASEAN is the establishment of the ASEAN Economic Community (AEC) in 2015, which aims to create a single market and production base with the free flow of goods, services, investment, and skilled labor among member states.ASEAN also engages in dialogue and cooperation with external partners, including major powers and other regional organizations, to promote regional peace, stability, and prosperity. The organization has expanded its engagement to areas such as counterterrorism, climate change, disaster management, and regional connectivity.Overall, ASEAN plays a crucial role in shaping the regional dynamics of Southeast Asia and has been instrumental in fostering cooperation and integration among its member states. 


ASEAN  and Pakistan :

Sectoral dialogue partner.

Economic lines :

  1. Pakistan vision East Asia 2003 :
  • Technology
  • Tourism
  • Textile trade
  • Drugs
  • Narcotics control

2.Pakistan and Asean Free Trade Agreement :

Feasibility reports in process.

Tarriff, tax , customs.

Security lines :

  1. Asian Regional Forum (ARF) :

Stablization and security.

Purpose of Asian region. (Pak Port)

(Joint Cooperation to fight against terrorism)

2.Asean Economic Integration :

  1. Asean in 1977 Preferential trade agreement (PTA)
  2. Asaen economic community signed in 2002-2003.
  3. Goods, services, labour, intellectual property rights, dispute resolution mechanism.
  4. Mutual collaboration to enchance economic policies for better intra-regional economic connectivity.
* The email will not be published on the website.